COVENTRY* - STOKE St Michael, Stoke 8, 13-1-9 in F# (GF)
History Of The Bells
The bells were originally three in number and had been derelict for over 40 years before anything was done. The augmentation was a complicated story - hung as a ring of five in April 1902 and augmented to six in May 1902, the tenor weighing 9-3-26. The bells were hung in a two tier frame with the second on top. The ring was remodelled in 1905 when the fourth was recast, and a treble and tenor added. All were rehung on ball bearings by Taylors in 1947. The Taylor bells were cast with flat tops, the other two have had their canons removed.
The tower is small and therefore the bells are on two levels. Bells 2, 5 and 8 are on top. The ringing room is cosy! Though there is a need for rope guides the bells go well and are suitable for the less experienced visitor. Entrance is normally via the tower door.
There is a church car park just to the west of the church up a small road almost opposite The Rose and Crown pub. This car park is, however, not suitable for coaches and it is locked not long after time of the end of the practice or when you are in the pub across the road after a peal - says he out of experience!
Details of the Bells
1 John Taylor & Co, Loughborough 1905 4-0-11 25.50" 1455.5Hz (F#-29c)
2 John Taylor & Co, Loughborough 1902 4-0-05 26.31" 1370.0Hz (E#-34c)
3 John Taylor & Co, Loughborough 1902 4-2-03 28.00" 1227.5Hz (D#-24c)
4 Hugh Watts 1624 5-0-08 30.00" 1092.0Hz (C#-26c)
5 John Taylor & Co, Loughborough 1905 6-1-15 32.625" 968.5Hz (B-34c)
6 John de Colsale c1410 7-1-15 34.50" 920.0Hz (A#-23c)
7 John Taylor & Co, Loughborough 1902 9-3-26 38.50" 818.0Hz (G#-26c)
8 John Taylor & Co, Loughborough 1905 13-1-09 42.50" 727.0Hz (F#-31c)
|The Church -
|The Church -